Decor

JB

Johor Bahru la not Justin Biebs.

Ayah received a wedding invitation from his technician from work, sounded pretty normal right? But the wedding venue was to be held in JB! Last I went for a wedding across the border was many many years ago and that time, I was not into the whole wedding thingamajig yet. I was in primary school back then, what do you expect.

Back when I was planning my own wedding, I came across a few bridals and decor vendor from Mesia that I fell in love with espesh C.henta W.edding. Who doesn’t know CW? Ok, if you really don’t, wait till you are planning your own wedding, you sure will know one LOLz! So needless to say, I was part excited and part lazy to be forced into going JB with my parents. Yan jangan cakap la, he forever lazy to go jemputans one. Nasib jemputan sendiri dia tak malas hahaha! One, because I do not want to wear baju kurung all the way up north, the feeling I cannot explain. Macam leceh gitu la. Pegi weddings in SG in baju kurung tak leceh pun? Hey! Different story k. Was part happy cos I want to see what a JB wedding looks like and has to offer. I actually nak makan aje la. That’s what I go to weddings for ~~~ HAHAHAHA!

Ya, I wanna know what and how their weddings differ from us, in terms of decor, andaman and of course food (see whether they got ayam masak merah or not :P) And also, mama kind of umpan-ed me to follow. She said “lepas pegi sana, boleh pegi Angsana apeee. Yong Tau Foo!” I lost the battle before I could even start fighting seh.

The wedding was held in a hall ala our community centres but they called it, Dewan la duh. And it is bigger than our CC’s halls but I think they could up their aircon power la. It was at its softest and I was rimas even though I was not in baju kurung. Just imagine if I were to be there in baju kurung. My first reaction when I enter the dewan was “WHOA! besarnye the pelamin!” and really it was huge. From one end to the other end of the stage, it took up the whole space. And I liked that the groom asked for inter-changeable coloured lights cos he not only had 1 huge-ass pelamin, he had 1 huge-ass pelamin that can change colours before our very eyes.

GENIUS!

f4f5c-linecamera_share_2015-04-29-14-31-52

I only managed to capture 4 colours but I’m sure there were more than 4. And did I mention that there were bonesteak/tulang served at their main buffet line? Yes, they did. Usually, we only served tulang during the rewang night and those who “rewang”ed get to eat them but this, all of us get a taste of it πŸ™‚ I only took 1 small piece before I takut kuah splash on my baju. Sad!

ea729-linecamera_share_2015-04-29-13-55-20

The only negative thing I have to comment was their lack of hygiene. There were flies EVERYWHERE. Their buffet scoopers were not there to scoop food for guests, but to tepis all the lalat away. Amusing sight seh hahahaha! Boleh la aku ketawa cos I tak berak2 but Yan did. Dunno what he ate that we did not. Some of Ayah’s colleagues too had diarrhoea and he said “maybe dorg tak baca Bismillah” HAHAHAHAHAHA!

And also, they had a live mee rebus station but the server was damn unhygienic sia. He used his bare hands to grab the noodles and blanch them and his workstation was really really messy, like the raw noodles and taugeh da bersepah-sepah all over his area and there were kuah spillages also. I dun even know how mama can make herself take one bowl of it. But luckily she tak sakit perot.

c540a-img-20150428-wa0004

The C&C Team and Family.
Sorry the image is kinda blurry and grainy.

After that, we went to Angsana to makan my Yong Tau Foo (I purposely ate a little so I could stuff myself silly with YTF) and bought some household stuff home. And dun forget our Subs πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “JB

    1. HAHAHAHAHA! my dad said his chinese colleagues yg berak2, dorg mane baca “Bismillah” kan. tak tahu pulak my hubby baca ke tidak HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

  1. I’ve recently been to a wedding in jb too and I’d say the selection of food’s pretty good! More kampung-like. They had this guava coated in dried orange slices DAMN GOOD LEI. I kept going back for more hahaha.

  2. At first when I saw the coloured pelamins, I thought which vendor semangat set up the SAME pelamin in various colours. Lol who would have thought that such a pelamin existed.. and the lalats! Eww turn off nyer.. Eh the yong tau foo pat maner ehh.. I slalu jugak merayap gi angsana hehee

    1. Yala. If not for the lalats, i think we all can eat our food in peace.

      Oh, the YTF is at Angsana nye tempat mkn at ground floor. Its the one and only stall dere so u cant miss it. I love slurping the kuah and the chilli is very nice too :9 alaaa kan da salivating now D:

Leave a comment